

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING

THE 60TH ANNIVERSARY OF COLUMBLA LODGE #1940

WHEREAS, on this 30th day of July, two thousand and four, COLUMBIA LODGE #1940 celebrates sixty years as part of the San Mateo community after its founding and establishment in the City of San Mateo in 1944 by an energetic and patriotic group of women who installed Eva Venturelli as their first President and still have two active founding members, Norma Marcucci and Giovanna Croaro; and

WHEREAS, in 1946 after males were allowed to join the organization, Italo Adamis became the first male President of COLUMBIA LODGE #1940, and was followed by Mario Marcucci, Maria Allegrini, Angelina Rossi, Ezio Rossi, Esther Merlo, Jerry Campagna, Inez Mazza, Joseph Simoni, Arlene Nunziati, Joseph Cotla and the current President, Carla Del Carlo; and

WHEREAS, COLUMBIA LODGE #1940 has had two members who have become National Delegates as well as several members who have served as State Officers over the years, starting with Mario Marcucci who achieved the title of First State Vice President and has been a delegate to State Conventions for fifty-four consecutive years; and

WHEREAS, COLUMBIA LODGE #1940's very own Linda Nunziati served a reign from 1985-1987 as State Queen, and the Lodge has also had several members serve as Princesses, State Deputies and on Grand Lodge committees; and

WHEREAS, COLUMBIA LODGE #1940 has been very active over the past sixty years hosting picnics, pancake breakfasts, gaming trips, fashion shows, casino nights, Hawaiian nights, banquets, Nights at the Races, as well as sponsoring a softball team and a bowling league in order to give its members many opportunities to gather and socialize,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of San Mateo County extend their congratulations to COLUMBLA LODGE #1940 upon its 60th Anniversary and best wishes for continued prosperity and camaraderie in the future.

DATED: July 30, 2004

SUPERVISORS:

are Ch

MARK CHURCH, PRESIDENT