Resolution

THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
COUNTY OF SAN MATEO, STATE OF CALIFORNIA
RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING

SETON MEDICAL CENTER & THE DAUGHTERS OF CHARITY

ON THEIR

40TH ANNIVERSARY IN DALY CITY

WHEREAS, the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul have cared for the sick and poor of the Bay Area since their 1852 arrival into Gold Rush San Francisco; and

WHEREAS, the nuns established and operated a school for orphans in San Francisco at the corner of Market and Montgomery Streets, housing 75 resident orphans and 300 day students by 1858; and

WHEREAS, in 1889, a gift of funds to the Archdiocese for land and construction of a hospital for women and children invited the Daughters of Charity to manage what would become Sunshine Hospital in San Francisco, reopening in 1912 as Mary's Help Hospital on Guerrero Street after the Great Earthquake of 1906 destroyed the original building; and

WHEREAS, by the 1950s, the Daughters of Charity were helping 30,000 patients a year, straining the limits of their 1.5-acre facility, later damaged by a 1957 earthquake; and

WHEREAS, in December 1965, Mary's Help Hospital opened on Sullivan Avenue atop a Daly City hill, to provide much-needed hospital and emergency services to northern San Mateo County, and was renamed in 1983 after St. Elizabeth Ann Seton, who founded the Daughters of Charity in the United States and was the first American-born saint; and

WHEREAS, the Daughters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul have fulfilled their healing mission for more than 150 years in the Bay Area, and continue to do so by treating the whole person: body, mind and spirit.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of San Mateo County congratulates Seton Medical Center and the Daughters of Charity as they commemorate 40 years of selfless service to Daly City and the entire North County community. The Board further extends its wishes for many more years of continued success.

DATED: APRIL 9, 2005

SUPERVISORS:

 $(1, \mathcal{S})$

MARK CHURCH

ROSE JACOBS GIBSON

GORDON, PRESIDENT

ADRIENNE J. TISSIER